The winners of the Horse Racing Ireland Awards 2020 were announced on Tuesday December 15.  The 50-minute programme, presented by Gary O’Brien, was broadcast on Racing TV and across all HRI social media channels.  The full programme is available to view at the link below.

    Legendary racing figures John Oxx and Barry Geraghty were among the winners. Both recently retired, they were honoured with the Contribution to the Industry Award and the Irish Racing Hero Award respectively.

    The 10 winners of the 18th annual awards were:
    Contribution to the Industry Award: John Oxx
    Irish Racing Hero Award: Barry Geraghty
    Horse of the Year Award: Al Boum Photo
    Emerging Talent Award: Gavin Ryan
    National Hunt Award: Rachael Blackmore
    National Hunt Achievement Award: Eugene and Maxine O’Sullivan
    Point-to-Point Award: Colin Bowe
    Flat Award: Colin Keane
    Flat Achievement Award: Tony Mullins
    Ride of the Year: Gavin Ryan 


    Horse Racing Ireland Chairman, Nicky Hartery:

    “We are nearing the end of what has been an extremely trying year and I wish to thank everyone in this wonderful industry who adapted so well to the challenges posed by the Covid-19 pandemic. In addition to our winners, I congratulate all those who kept the show on the road in 2020. Together, we look forward to a much brighter and exciting year ahead.”

This site uses unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer, to improve performance and monitoring services.Click here for more info