Final Trainer and Jockey Standings: Mullins and Townend confirmed as champions

Both have led the way for much of the season

Monday, May 02, 2022

Paul Townend picking up his Champion jockey prize at Punchestown

Willie Mullins and Paul Townend retained their respective trainer and jockey champion crowns following the final weekend of the National Hunt 2021-22 season.

Both were presented with their titles by Horse Racing Ireland chairman Nicky Hartery at Punchestown on Saturday, with racegoers present at the ceremony for the first time since 2019.

Townend secured his fourth Champion Jockey title on the trot to continue his remarkable streak, his fifth overall when you add in his 2010-11 triumph. 

The man from Midleton has once again been in a class of his own when it came to saddling winners this year. 

With 84 victories in total, Townend finished clear of nearest challenger Mark Walsh who was a further 20 wins behind.

It’s hard to narrow down his campaign to just a few select highlights, but Blue Lord’s Arkle Novice Chase win at Leopardstown and Chacun Pour Soi completing a magnificent three-peat of Dublin Chase will be remembered way beyond this season.


Townend also saved one of his best rides till the end, when he saddled Allaho to the Punchestown Gold Cup last week.

It was also another remarkable campaign for Mullins who for the 16th time has won the honour of Champion Trainer. 

Once again, the King of Closutton has been master of all he surveys, both at home and the other side of the Irish Sea, where a sensational Cheltenham Festival saw him finish up with 10 winners. Prior to this year no trainer had ever won more than eight. 

Some of his most memorable winners on home soil included, Energumene’s Punchestown Champion Chase, Galopin Des Champs bouncing back from Cheltenham disappointment with a dominant win in the Boylesports Gold Cup and of course the aforementioned Allaho.

The top ten in the standings for each championship can be found below.

Final Jockey Standings 

  1. Paul Townend - 84
  2. Mark Walsh - 64
  3. Darragh O'Keefe - 62
  4. Rachael Blackmore - 57
  5. Jordan Gainford - 49
  6. Patrick Mullins - 47
  7. Davy Russell - 46
  8. Sean O’Keeffe - 45
  9. Jack Foley - 44
  10. Danny Mullins - 43

Final Trainers Standings 

  1. Willie Mullins
  2. Gordon Elliott
  3. Henry de Bromhead
  4. Joseph O’Brien
  5. Gavin Cromwell
  6. Noel Meade
  7. John Ryan
  8. Dermot McLoughlin
  9. Denise Foster
  10. Jessica Harrington 

This site uses unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer, to improve performance and monitoring services.Click here for more info